Gera · Student exchanges

Final Reflections from Germany

(July 2)

Today I sit on my hotel bed and think of the past few weeks and how they changed my life.

I leave Germany today, but not for good. I will return someday to see all the people I am leaving behind and all the memories. Within the next year some of the friends I have made will be coming to Fort Wayne and I will get to see them then. I am beyond excited to be able to show them my world as they showed me theirs. To be able to share this bond with them is amazing and this whole opportunity has changed my life. 

I had tears in my eyes when I left my family in Fort Wayne, yet I didn’t realize that I would have tears when I left my host family too. They made a huge impact on my life that I will never forget.

(July 3) 
I have been home now for 24 hours. I knew that being in Germany had a huge impact on my life, but once I got home it really hit me. Unpacking my things were hard to do, seeing all the gifts from my host family and all the memories, it’s hard to go back to my life without them.

I miss my host family and my newfound friends dearly, and I cannot wait to see them again. Talking on social media and sending each other pictures just isn’t the same as being together in person. I’ll just have to return!

Telling all the stories to my family and having them taste different foods was exciting, but now the journey seems like a dream that ended too soon. Till we meet again Germany!

Peyton

 

Leave a Reply

